

Note of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Title:	Councillors' Forum
Date:	Thursday 8 March 2018
Venue:	Westminster Room, 8th Floor, 18 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A to this note

Item Decisions and actions

Action

1 Welcome, apologies and declarations of interest

The Chairman welcomed members to the meeting and noted the apologies as set out at <u>Appendix A</u>.

There were no declarations of interest.

2 Minister of State for Care, Caroline Dinenage MP

The Chairman welcomed Caroline Dinenage MP, Minister of State for Care, to the meeting.

The Minister thanked members and the Chairman for inviting her to speak and noted that the integration of health and social care was vital in reforming the system and delivering effective services to those most in need of them. The Minister said that her focus would be centred around reform, housing, integration and loneliness, and she was looking forward to working with local government on the green paper for the care and support of older people. She noted that a parallel project would be run alongside the green paper which would focus on working age adults, and that part of this process would include roundtables and ongoing discussions with both the LGA and ADASS. The Minister acknowledged that funding was an issue for local government and she referenced the £2 billion in additional funding which she said would help commission sustainable and diverse services.

The Minister was not able to stay to take questions from members but the following comments were made following her departure:

 Members did not feel that the Minister understood the full extent of the funding pressures local authorities were under and they questioned where money set aside went after the Dilnot cap was scrapped. Members were keen to press the Government on the £2.3 billion funding gap and for the Government to look at the whole picture on social care, which would include the impact closing local libraries, community and youth centres had on vulnerable people.



- Members felt that the Government needed to work more closely with local government in relation to the green paper and that there should be a greater focus on prevention.
- Members asked how we could reset the conversation about local health services and the interaction between local authorities and the NHS. It was suggested that more could be done to encourage local authorities and the NHS to work in partnership. It was noted that in some areas there had been disputes between local authorities and Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) about the Better Care Fund.
- Lord Porter noted that the delayed transfer of care (DTOC) figures had come down month on month and the local authorities ought to be praised for the work they had done to contribute towards this reduction.

Decision

Members **noted** the Minister's presentation.

3 Chairman's Update

Members **noted** the Chairman's update.

4 LGA Boards & Portfolio Chair's Reports

The following comments were made:

- It was noted that a meeting of the Business Rates Retention Group would follow Councillors' Forum.
- Cllr Simon Blackburn noted that the Government had launched a consultation on the Domestic Violence and Abuse Bill and he reminded members that the LGA position on this was supportive. Cllr Blackburn said that the LGA would continue to work with the Government to ensure that there was a focus on prevention as well as refuges. Cllr Martin Tett asked about the Home Office suggestion that some Prevent responsibilities would be moved to local government. Cllr Blackburn was limited in the details he could provide following conversations with the security services but that he would update the political groups as and when any progress was made.

Decision

Members noted the Chairs' reports.

5 Digest of the last meeting

Members **agreed** the minutes as an accurate summary of the discussion had at the previous meeting.



I

Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman Deputy-chairman	Lord Gary Porter CBE Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	South Holland District Council Lincolnshire County Council
Deputy-chairman		
Deputy-chairman Members	Cllr David Simmonds CBE Cllr Sean Anstee Cllr Paul Carter CBE Cllr Peter Fleming OBE Cllr Nigel Ashton Cllr Philip Atkins OBE Cllr John Beesley Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Paul Bettison OBE Cllr Gillian Brown Cllr Vanessa Churchman Cllr Vanessa Churchman Cllr John Fuller Cllr Deter Golds Cllr Mark Hawthorne MBE Cllr James Jamieson Cllr Donna Jones JP Cllr Rory Love Cllr Roy Perry Cllr David Renard Cllr Martin Tett Cllr Catherine Rankin Cllr Colin Riley Mayor Tim Bowles Cllr Nick Forbes Cllr Michael Payne Cllr Simon Blackburn Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Alan Rhodes Cllr Clare Coghill Cllr Kate Haigh Cllr Sue Woodward Cllr Anne Western CBE Cllr Anne Western CBE Cllr Alan Connett Cllr Debbie Wilcox Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr Heather Kidd Cllr Alan Connett Cllr Lucy Nethsingha Cllr Lucy Nethsingha Cllr Lucy Nethsingha	Hillingdon London Borough Council Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council Kent County Council Sevenoaks District Council North Somerset Council Bournemouth Borough Council Essex County Council Bracknell Forest Borough Council Arun District Council North Norfolk District Council South Norfolk District Council Gloucestershire County Council Central Bedfordshire Council Portsmouth City Council Shepway District Council Buckinghamshire County Council Castle Point Borough Council Swindon Borough Council Buckinghamshire County Council Castle Point Borough Council West of England Combined Authority Newcastle upon Tyne City Council Blackpool Council Durham County Council Staffordshire County Council Biackpool Council Biackpool Council Durham Forest London Borough Council Gloucester City Council Staffordshire County Council Biacford Metropolitan District Council Bristol City Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Derbyshire County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Derbyshire County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Devon County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Devon County Council Devon County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Devon County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Devon County Council Brafford Metropolitan District Council Newport City Council Devon County Council Cambridgeshire County Council Huntingdonshire District Council Herefordshire Council
	Cllr Lisa Duffy Cllr Robert Bucke	Huntingdonshire District Council Tendring District Council
Apologies	Clir Izzi Seccombe OBE Clir Morris Bright MBE	Warwickshire County Council Hertsmere Borough Council



Cllr Robert Light Kirklees Metropolitan Council Cllr Claire Kober OBE Haringey Council Cllr John Merry CBE Salford City Council Cllr Sabia Hussain Slough Borough Council Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council Cllr Timothy Swift Sir Stephen Houghton Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council CBE Cllr Graham Chapman Nottingham City Council Cllr Linda Thomas **Bolton Council** Cllr Judith Blake CBE Leeds City Council Ms Fiona Twycross AM London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA) Cllr Roger Lawrence Wolverhampton City Council Cllr Vince Maple Medway Council Cllr Amy Cross Blackpool Council

Cllr Howard Sykes MBE Oldham I

Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council

In Attendance

LGA Officers